Does My Mercedes Use a High Security Laser Cut Key?

High Security Keys

High Security Keys

The following is an alphabetical list of automobiles made by Mercedes that use a high security laser cut key. The make, model and year are listed below. Some model years may overlap and the manufacturer may use different types of keys within the same year. Because of this overlap, we suggest you call the dealer or local automotive locksmith with your VIN number to find out which system your particular vehicle uses.

High Security Laser cut keys are also known as Sidewinder keys due to the snakelike groove cut into the key. They are made of a thicker metal than a normal key and will have the groove cut into both sides of the key by a machine known as a laser cutter.

Some high security laser cut keys also contain a transponder chip and require programming as well. Some transponder keys use what is known as a Phillips Rolling Code system. Vehicles that require programming using the Phillips Rolling Code System can only be programmed by the dealer. Phillips Rolling Code Transponder keys must be pre-programmed, because they contain pre-programmed binary encryption information that requires a dealer key, which can only be ordered based on the vehicles VIN. Previously deleted keys for these vehicles cannot be programmed again. We have listed this type key as High Security/Dealer.



Make                                                                                 Year                                         Key

190 Class D, E w/o Alarm 1984-1993 High Security/Dealer
190 Class,D,E w/Alarm 1984-1993 High Security/Dealer
300 Series 1997-1985 High Security
300 Series 1986-1995 High Security/Dealer
C Class- C220, C230, C280, C43 1994-1996 High Security
C Class- C220, C230, C280, C43 1997-2009 High Security/Dealer
C Class- CL500, CL600, CL55, CL65 1998-2008 High Security/Dealer
CLK Class-CLK320, CLK430, Cabriolet 1998-2008 High Security/Dealer
CLS Class-CLS500, CLS555 2006-2008 High Security/Dealer
E Class- E55, E350, E500, E300D, E320, E430 1994-2009 High Security/Dealer
G Class- G55, G500 2004-2011 High Security/Dealer
M Class 1998-2009 High Security/Dealer
M320, M430 1998-2008 High Security/Dealer
R Class- R350, R500 2006-2009 High Security/Dealer
S Class- SL320, SLL500,SL600, 380SL, 420SL, 450SL 1981-1996 High Security
S Class- SL320, SLL500,SL600, 380SL, 420SL, 450SL 1997-2008 High Security/Dealer
SLK55, SLK230, SLK280, SLK350 1998-2008 High Security/Dealer
SLR MC LAREN 2005-2008 High Security/Dealer Key
Sprinter 2007-2013 High Security


We thought you’d like to know…

Stay safe Citrus county!

Leave a Reply